Band: Lay It On The Line / Album: The Black Museum / Year: 2017 / Label: Disconnect, Disconnect Records

Admittedly, I am not a fan of female fronted melodic hardcore bands. It’s not a shitty sexist thing. It’s just not my thing. We support many female fronted dirty punk and Oi bands. That’s our true love. I listen to 99.9% of the material random bands send to me, and honestly… I almost skipped this over.

But, I’m glad I didn’t.

Lay It On The Line is not the kind of music I listen to. As a matter of fact, I forced myself to listen to it. What I discovered was a very well produced, heavy as fuck, extremely talented bunch belting out 10 tracks of well thought out hardcore that took me back to the time when hc started evolving from the NYHC formula of yesterday, into the more metal influenced noise we hear a lot of today. The bands debut album The Black Museum, is the first recording of theirs to feature Alice Hour. Judging by the pictures I’ve seen, she stands about 2 apples high, but when she belts out her powerful vocals, one can only image a 10 foot tall warrior. The male vocalist is a powerful presence as well. (Unfortunately, I’m not sure which bandmember it is), but both voices blend well together. I’m impressed with the entire package this band has produced for us. The rest of this South London band knows their instruments. They don’t waste time with unnecessary noise or meaningless filler. Instead, they hammer down exactly what is needed at the all of the right moments, proving they are masters of their craft.

Considering this is a skinhead zine, and Oi is what most of us are here for, Lay It On The Line may not hit a lot of you… but, for those who are into a wide selection of genres, this is a definite winner; a smart, powerful album full of surprises.

Head over to Lay It On The Line Facebook Page and check em out. Sample the tracks at Lay It On The Line Bandcamp.

http://www.disconnectdisconnect.co.uk

